Sad But True: GH Metallica’s Shortcomings

by Mitchell Dyer

metallicaa

I’m not one to ascribe a monetary value to a videogame. I’m very stern in my stance that a game ultimately is what it is, and that you can’t compare its cost to its quality, but Guitar Hero Metallica is a disappointingly limited game that costs way too damn much.

For the higher-than-usual price of $70, the disc for GHM has but 28 Metallica songs. Rather than touting it as having 49 songs, Neversoft’s latest Guitar Hero advertises the 20 bands that make up the set list. Maybe marketing thought that seeing 20 bands would be more appealing than 49 tracks, which is about 40 tunes less than World Tour, or even Harmonix’s Rock Band has. By the time my band buddy and I had blazed through to the final set, where we closed the Ice Cave stage with Things The That Should Not Be, there was a certain feeling of emptiness in our metal-lovin’ hearts.

Pissing and whining begins now:

The disc for Metallica costs ten bones more than any other disc-only music game on shelves right now, and frankly, you’re getting royally rammed in the rear by a low track count and a sky-high price. If Neversoft nabbed the Metallica license, where is all the Metallica? Sure, there are plenty of notable songs to bang your head to, but a significant lack of lesser-known jams are missing. I have 132 Metallica tunes in my iTunes (more if you count the live album), which tells me that despite having acquired the band’s likeness and license, they ignored a massive portion of their library.

…And Justice for All and Blackened are tied to Rock Band, and even if they didn’t think there were enough worthwhile ‘tallica tracks, Garage Inc. is full of incredible covers of other musicians work. The Misfits’ Die, Die My Darling and the bizarre tale of Whiskey in the Jar would have been loads of fun. Maybe it’s a rights issue, but you can’t tell me that Harvester of Sorrow wouldn’t have been totally friggin’ sweet. Ain’t My Bitch, Hero of the Day, 2 x 4, The Call of Ktulu… hell, I’d have settled for the catastrophic St. Anger if it meant that I wasn’t spending almost $1.50 per track on a retail disc.

Metallica is exorbitantly overpriced, and this is coming from someone who would have paid $60 apiece for Portal and Team Fortress 2. My biggest problem with it, however, is how damn much I’m enjoying playing those songs over and over again…

