One Paragraph Review: Street Fighter II HD Remix

by Derrek Lucas

hdr

One of the games that contributed to shaping me into the man I am today was undoubtedly Street Fighter II. Imagine my delight when I heard about its Playstation Network and Xbox Live Arcade revival. The first time I played Super Street Fighter II Turbo: HD Remix I was completely obliterated by the CPU. I went in expecting an encore of my earlier experience, but was pleasantly surprised and taken aback at the games beauty and speed. It was still the game I fell in love with when I was using Chun Li’s agility to beat Dhalsim’s Stretch Armstrong impression. But my game grew up, and she looks good. The subtle differences between the original and HD Remix are what make it as good as it is — whether it’s the Super finishers or recovering feet-first from a throw, developer Backbone managed to improve on a game I grew up believing was perfect. I was even able to forgive them for substituting Zangief’s ending dance with Gorbachev with bear-wrestling. Next time I may not be so generous.

Rating: A

