Down Write Daily – May 26, 2009

by Mitchell Dyer

Fierce Pad

I downloaded the Red Faction Guerilla multiplayer demo after physically forcing a friend to try the game. I downloaded the single-player demo a while back and did a feature on it, and my adoration for the wanton destruction urged me to get it for my bud. He immediately fell in love and downloaded the MP demo as well.

The multiplayer demo is pretty cool, but the maps seem a bit barren for an online game focused on wrecking everything. Everything is spread out, and when that’s the case in the solo game I find myself relying on vehicles or my sprint ability, which has been taken away in favor of a plethora of backpack options. Those backpacks offer a lot of cool stuff, like a jetpack, the ability to blast yourself through concrete walls and even, um, sprint, but very few work well within the confines of the maps’ expanse.

What does work is the control-point capturing. Not only do you have to destroy your opponents CP to cap it, you need to rebuild it to etch your team’s name on it. Smashing and rebuilding a trio of ten-foot-high towers is a great dynamic when you’ve got a bunch of dudes swinging at each other with hammers and lobbing landmines onto the buildings around them and crumbling them to bits.

That’s easily the most likable aspect of RF:G, and the primary reason my friend fell in love.  The things you’ll see in the campaign and the online are rather unbelievable. High fives come in droves.

SMASH

Buildings are architecturally designed, complete with rebar slapped inside the walls of a structure, which means there’s almost a science to taking them down. You can smash the foundation, but a building can still hold its own weight with the right amount of support. It takes some smart thinking to smash the second story of a three story structure out, and an even smarter player to willingly topple it on to a building full of players trading bullets.

That was pretty cool. I can’t wait to see what people come up with in Red Faction. I just hope they add a bit more density to the environments.

