Down Write Daily – May 27, 2009

by Mitchell Dyer

Fierce Pad

My iPhone is dead. As a result, I am out a phone, constant access to e-mail, internet, and Twitter. Oddly enough, the last thing I’m bummed about is my games. Peggle. Resident Evil: Degeneration. Word Fu. Word Jong. Drop7.

I like iPhone gaming well enough, but can’t be bothered to keep up with it beyond the odd recommendation, usually courtesy of John Davison from WhatTheyPlay, and usually word games like Word Fu/Jong. Other games, like RE: Degeneration, are on-a-whim purchases that cut deep and fill the wound with regret. Peggle is rad, but I can play it on my iPod, which I normally carry anyway, and Drop7 is a great game that I don’t need immediate access to.

Good thing, too, because I really don’t care one way or the other.

My iPhone gaming is totally throwaway. I think it’s a totally viable platform (something I scoffed at a mere month ago) made all the more reputable by PopCap support and a bunch of quick, fun games that you really do only need to play for a few minutes. Guiding aircraft to landing pads makes for one of the most stressful jobs on the planet, I’m told, but it’s an awesome diversion on my phone.

So if I like iPhone games, why do I care so little about it? If my DS died I might hold a funeral. If my PSP died, I’d be bummed that I felt the need to replace a system I feel like I’ll only ever play to finish Crisis Core someday.  But with my iPhone in the ICU and awaiting a replacement, I’m stressing over how I’ll check Twitter in the city tomorrow, not how I’ll pass my time when I get there.

