One Paragraph Review: God of War III

by Derrek Lucas

I’m surprised by how much I enjoyed God of War III. The first GOW mesmerized me because David Jaffe and his Sony Santa Monica team basically reinvented the action genre, giving it a healthy dose of steroids and a sweet set of blades to boot. When the sequel hit, I was excited, but felt disappointed when I discovered I was basically playing the same game again. With God of War 3, I expected more of the same and was pleasantly surprised. GOW3 effectively improved on everything I loved about the first, from the gorgeous environments to Kratos’ fluid movements, which lead to rivers of blood. Yes, the gameplay itself has very little difference to that of the first game, save for a few flying sequences. Yet I was far too entranced by the amazing story and phenomenal voice acting to be upset by the little shortcomings.

